Homeschooling Year Round-Oh my, the dreaded curriculum

This is the first time since Homeschooling since 2011 that I’m at peace with our curriculum. I have gone through a lot of things and spent a lot of money but now I have something we can enjoy.

This year no more looking at websites and companies that
say there curriculum is the best. As a former teacher I had to realize I teach, the curriculum is a guide. Homeschooling is about learning and I’m learning a lot.

Something new for us: construction and I chose Apologia for Science with cool experiments. ( I hate science my least favorite subject). Reading has been simplified to teaching comprehension and reading an age appropriate literature book. Spelling and vocabulary are done on Spelling City using words from All About Spelling. Math is taught by BJU DVD, this helps the math come back to me. It’s been some time since I did this type of math and the way Common Core has been presented I would be crying too.

Final analysis: There is no magical curriculum; just the curriculum that works best for you!

-Priscilla , I’m a homeschooling Mama of Twins(9)

Leave a Reply

